Inglis Memorial Hall and Library
In 1898, Lieutenant Colonel Robert William Inglis gifted the Inglis Memorial Hall and its library to Edzell. One hundred years on, the hall still remains the jewel in the crown of Edzell. Its library is a rare survival of a late Victorian closed system, and includes one of the few working Cotgreave Indicators.
The Library Room has recently been restored to its full splendour and is now a visitor centre, where you can learn about the history of the library and its place in the community.
Explore the audio visual presentation featuring the Colonel and his family, the building and opening of the hall and library, and places to visit in and around Edzell.
The library's collection is a fascinating glimpse into a unique survival of a late Victorian library, reflecting what was considered of interest and importance in both fiction and non-fiction. The loan records for the first half of the twentieth century also survived, showing what the public liked to borrow. A digitised catalogue is available for researchers and includes a scanned image of the cover and a sample page.